US limits visas for travelers from nine countries

(CNN) — The U.S. government on Monday will begin placing travel restrictions on some travelers from nine countries in Africa and the Middle East.

The nine countries include:







Saudi Arabia



Saudi Arabia and Libya are expected to be added to the travel ban based on the severity of the threat from terrorism. Sudan is receiving an exemption because of efforts made by President Trump’s administration to improve the Sudanese government’s human rights record.

The move to restrict travel from the nine countries comes as the Trump administration is attempting to negotiate an updated international agreement to detain and deport migrants who are believed to be seeking asylum from the United States.

The State Department also said Monday that it will also issue guidance to U.S. embassies in countries across the world who assist U.S. citizens who have valid visas, on whether those consular officers “should exercise ‘high vigilance’ in their issuance of visas or other travel documents” to people from the nine targeted countries.

How the U.S. travel ban is changing daily

Leave a Comment